A Clean Bathroom and a Liebster for the Win

15 Nov

This week was an exciting week for several reasons:

1. I finally cleaned my bathroom. You have noooo idea.

2. I figured out the PERFECT cinnamon to sugar ratio to sweeten up my tall, nonfat, extra hot, super creamy, light on the ice, mocha, half baked, smallish-large latte.

3. I was nominated for a LIEBSTER AWARD!

For those of you who don’t know, the Liebster Award is a WordPress award that one blogger can give a fellow blogger.

When a blogger decides to nominate another blogger for this award, he or she is saying, “Hey, I like your blog and I think you are an amazing individual who deserves a pink pony and a pink cake and some global recognition to go with your pink pony and your pink cake.” (That is the official definition of the Liebster Award – I looked it up. Also, pink ponies and cakes can be exchanged for blue or yellow ones for a small fee of $400.)

I would like to thank the Queenzdesire blog for nominating A Series of Tom Fooleries for this award. The Queenzdesire sells fabulous, handmade, terracotta jewelry and then blogs about it! I am a major fan of terracotta from way back, so I love checking out this beautiful jewelry.

As part of the Liebster Award rules, I am supposed to state 11 facts about myself. Do I even have 11 facts to post about myself? I guess I’ll just start with the obvious:

  1. I rarely clean my bathroom because there’s not an app for that.
  2. I plan on using my college degree to invent a bathroom-cleaning app.
  3. I somersaulted down a flight of wooden stairs at the age of six and thought I’d broken my wrist.
  4. My broken wrist healed within three hours, after a heavy dose of lemonade and cookies – for which I have been called a “marvel” in the medical community.
  5. I have never seen Avatar OR the Lord of the Rings, and I’m pretty sure there’s a witch hunt out looking for me right now because of it.
  6. My first friends were named Pootie and Peetie, and they were 100% imaginary.
  7. My current best friends are named Pootie and Peetie, and they are 65% imaginary.
  8. My ears are smaller than those of a toddler – I’ve measured.
  9. I cannot spell the word conscientious without spellcheck.
  10. I physically cannot eat plain cream cheese without gagging.
  11. I once ate plain cream cheese because I thought it was frosting and gagged in front of the entire elementary school cafeteria. Life is hard.

So that’s me.

As the final part of my nomination acceptance, I am supposed to nominate a few blogs for this award. Here we go:

  1. THEADVENTURESOFBEKA: http://theadventuresofbeka.wordpress.com/
  2. A Day in the Life of Shareen A.: http://shareenayoub.wordpress.com/
  3. The Reporter and the Girl: Minus the Super Man: http://thereporterandthegirl.com/
  4. Lame Adventures: http://lameadventures.com/
  5. The Knee Deep Life: http://kneedeeplife.wordpress.com/

These are all blogs that I really enjoy for one reason or another – inspiration, humor, insight… they’ve got it all, and I would encourage everyone to check them out.

Okay, as the final part of my post, I am supposed to ask these bloggers to answer 11 questions about themselves. But, 11 questions seem like a lot of questions to throw at someone at one time. So instead, I’ve settled on six, which is a nice, even number. (I hate odd numbers. And I don’t even feel bad about it.)

  1. Sunset or sunrise?
  2. Frappe or milkshake?
  3. What is your pet peeve?
  4. What is your pet’s pet peeve?
  5. How many pieces of pizza can you eat in one sitting?
  6. Do you miss your Walkman and your cassette tapes? (Be honest.)

Those are my questions. Are those weird questions? I mean, I think most people would agree that pizza and the Walkman are pretty run-of-the-mill conversation starters. Feel free to ask people these questions at your next dinner party and report back with their answers. You can thank me later for all the new friendships you will make.

Again, thank you to the Queenzdesire blog for nominating me for this award. I look forward to seeing more of your work!

As for Foolery, check back soon for another post – something tells me it’s going to be a foolish weekend.

Walkman on, my friends.

10 Responses to “A Clean Bathroom and a Liebster for the Win”

  1. TheGirl November 29, 2013 at 6:05 pm #

    Congratulations SophPearl! I’m sorry for responding so late. Great job on the blog award, your blog deserves it and keep it up. Thank you for recognizing my blog and nominating it for this award. Have a happy Thanksgiving weekend!

  2. lameadventures November 24, 2013 at 12:10 am #

    Thank you for the shout out. Here are my half dozen answers:

    1. Sunset. I am not a morning person. At all.
    2. Frappe or milkshake? Neither. Severely lactose intolerant and would rather do without than go soy.
    3. Pet peeve: the overuse of the word “awesome” to such a degree it should be removed from the vocabulary and replaced with “semi-flaccid”.
    4. My pet’s pet peeve: I have only ever had one pet, a dog named Mean Streak, who died in 1986. He hated people.
    5. How many pieces of pizza can I stuff into myself in a sitting: zero. As mentioned I cannot digest cow’s milk cheese and due to suffering severe gastritis, my gastroenterologist forbids me from eating acidic food (tomato). I’m a lot of fun in a restaurant.
    6. Miss Walkman or cassette tapes: neither. Since I am hard of hearing, I never owned a Walkman (wearing headphones might expedite losing the crumb of hearing I have left) and back in the day, I only listened to music on vinyl, until one of my gfs gave me a CD player.

    • sophpearl November 30, 2013 at 5:21 pm #

      Thanks for the responses! I now realize my questions were somewhat lactose heavy. Thanks for bearing with me 🙂 And I love the name Mean Streak. Too funny.

  3. thequirkymommaj November 18, 2013 at 4:46 pm #

    My last comment didn’t save. Anyway, I want that bathroom cleaning app, so get to work! HAHA! I found your blog via Fuel My Blog and I’m your newest follower. Can’t wait to see what you publish next!

    • sophpearl November 18, 2013 at 5:13 pm #

      You’re first in line when I finish designing it! And thanks so much for following!

  4. debtnthecity November 16, 2013 at 2:41 pm #

    Congrats girl!!! Totally deserved, I LOVE your writing.

    • sophpearl November 16, 2013 at 4:36 pm #

      You’re so nice, thank you so much! And I’m glad you liked the post!

  5. geanieroake November 16, 2013 at 4:29 am #

    congrats on the award. It’s a lot of work, but fun.

  6. Mike G. November 15, 2013 at 7:51 pm #

    Congrats, it was well deserved. You ARE funny. Hope you develop that app. If/when you do, please send one each to my daughters.

    I think ears still grow, don’t they? If so, then all the best to you in that endeavor. If not, better luck next time.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. This Is Awkward | theadventuresofbeka - November 30, 2013

    […] a couple weeks ago I was nominated for a Liebster Award by A Series of Tom Foolery. I am honored, but this also caused a lot of personal soul seeking and stress. Social interactions […]

Tell me what you think!

