The Inspirational Blogger Award

24 Jun

When I was in eighth grade and about to enter the riveting, dynamic, “you can wear tube tops and chew gum here” halls of high school, my middle school yearbook honored me with the very special, highly underrated, previously unknown “Best Laugh” award. At the time, I thought receiving this award was my glass ceiling – what could top getting a yearbook award? (Besides my amazing laugh, apparently.)

Since then, I’ve been honored with a few awards (including The Versatile Blogger Award and the Liebster Award), all of which paled in comparison to my first.

(Just kidding. None of my awards “paled.” They were all very flushed with sun.)

But this weekend, all of that changed when Meghan of freshfaced nominated me for “The Very Inspirational Blogger Award.”

An award. My dream.

In the wise, not at all cheesy and totally sincere words of Ann Hathaway: “it came true.”

Seriously, though. I have always wanted to be inspirational.

The other day, my coworker ordered a salad because I’d “inspired her” with my Asian Chicken salad, and I nearly bought her an entire Asian Chicken factory and promised her my first-born child…but then I realized that if anyone is going to be even remotely inspired by me, it will probably be my first-born child…so he/she is going to need to stick around.

(Coworker, you’ll still get your factory.)

That is how much I want to be inspirational.

Joking aside (even thought I wasn’t really joking), thank you, Meghan! I really do appreciate this. And I also am really enjoying your blog!

Along with this great torch of honor, a cash prize, and a yearlong retreat to Tahiti come a few guidelines that the winner must follow:

  • Thank and link the amazing person who nominated you.
  • List the rules and display the award.
  • Share seven facts about yourself.
  • Nominate fifteen other amazing blogs and remember to comment on their blogs to let them know you’ve nominated them (provide a link to your post).
  • This rule is optional – you can proudly display the award logo anywhere on your blog (e.g. on your sidebar) and also follow the blogger that nominated you.

Shall I follow the rules for once?

I think I’ve already completed the first. (That was the part where I thanked Meghan, my new friend.)

I’ve also already covered the second…

Excuse me while I treat myself to froyo for being soooo linear.

Okay, onto the third part –seven facts about myself.

Let’s. Get. Juicy.

  1. I can pick things up with my feet. Last night, I picked up my water glass with my feet. It promptly spilled everywhere, but the means justified the ends…
  2. I once announced I was running away from home and then packed a pair of underwear, a stuffed dog, and a sleeve of Ritz crackers into a duffle bag. (I limited myself to the necessities – can’t get bogged down with “stuff” when you’re transitioning into a minimalist lifestyle). I made it all the way to the North Pole, where I am sitting right now, thankyouverymuch.
  3. I saw Kate Winslet biking through Concord one time and BURST into tears (before stalking her in my car for half a mile). When I called my mom to tell her I “JUST sksSAWdkfbsdknvljgvrKATEdjkhfdksjgnksWINSLETdajkbdsvjka,” she asked me if I was drunk. I was twelve. (Totally Joe King. I was thirteen.)
  4. I thought the lyrics to James Blunt’s song, “You’re Beautiful” were, “I saw an angel…of Adam Shore.” I always wondered, who is Adam Shore? How did he die? How did he know James Blunt? It turns out, the actual lyrics are, “I saw an angel…of that I’m sure.” Oh really, JAMES, you’re sure?? Well I thought the lyrics were about Adam Shore and I was WRONG, so how can you be so sure??
  1. I once ate cream cheese and gagged in front of the entire cafeteria because it was so. Disgusting.
  2. I once ate a brownie that was filled with cream cheese and then ate ten more.
  3. When I asked my mom if I could shave my legs in fourth grade, she said no and instead suggested I complement my black, Velcro sneakers with long tube socks that were decorated with frilly lace at the top…GOOD CALL, MOM.

So I’m a hairy, runaway foot acrobat with a love of Kate Winslet, a hatred of cream cheese, and a strong desire to meet Adam Shore.

I hope you’ve learned a bit more about me from those facts!

Now, it is time for me to nominate fifteen other inspirational blogs. Hopefully I don’t botch any names (ehem, JOHN TRAVOLTA).

The nominations are as follows:

  1. Wendi at This, That and the Other Thang
  2. Quinn and Jonathon at Life Out of the Box
  3. Shaz at For the Love of Sass
  4. Girl on the Contrary
  5. Katie at Sass & Balderdash
  6. Long Awkward Pause
  7. Virginia at Lame Adventures
  8. Ann at The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally
  9. The Kiwi Cook 
  10. Andrea at Cooking With a Wallflower
  11. John at Post It Notes From My Idiot Boss 
  12. Keira at A Pretty Penny 
  13. Roxy at Sex and the City of Light 
  14. Abby at Abby Has Issues 
  15. Devin at Run Like a Girl 

From humor to food to fashion and back to food – these are all fabulous blogs and you should check them out!

This experience has really left me feeling like The Little Mermaid, post-leg growth. (I’m providing you with the link to the Spanish version because a second language is the gift that keeps on giving.)

I don’t want to say I’m basically Miss America…

…but I’d be lying if I didn’t.

Thanks again, Meghan, for the nomination!

 

Ps. Check out my shiny, new award sticker on the right side of my blog! Basically a new BMW in the blog world…

 

 

 

8 Responses to “The Inspirational Blogger Award”

  1. lameadventures June 25, 2014 at 6:32 pm #

    Thanks for the shout out.

  2. Orly June 25, 2014 at 2:25 am #

    congratulations! love your facts, i like cream cheese with other things, but if i eat it alone i will gag too
    xo
    Orly
    coffeebeansandhighheels.weebly.com

  3. dkropp1 June 24, 2014 at 11:35 pm #

    Thanks so much!! I love your writing voice!

  4. girlonthecontrary June 24, 2014 at 4:45 pm #

    Thanks so much! As long as we’re sharing middle school awards….

    My middle school didn’t do yearbook awards, but we did have a burn book. I won “best dressed” and “most arrogant”. In my defense, when you are that well dressed, it’s hard not to be arrogant.

    • sophpearl June 24, 2014 at 4:49 pm #

      Of course! You’ve got to rock the look. Don’t let the haters knock you down a peg.
      I probably would have looked up to your dual awards!

  5. thisthatandtheotherthang June 24, 2014 at 4:14 pm #

    Awe thank you so much, hun! I am honored. Almost as honored as that time in elementary school when I got nominated for the “Girl who had the best collection of Bonne Belle Lipsmackers keychained to her Lisa Frank backpack” award (the Golden Chapstick statue still resides on my desk to this day.) But seriously, you are hilarious my dear (I had to apologize to my co-worker for LOL’ing multiple times while reading this post) and I am honored!

    P.S. Cream cheese is DISGUSTING and Adam Shore sounds hot.

    • sophpearl June 24, 2014 at 4:28 pm #

      HA what a GREAT middle school award! You display that, girl! Thanks so much for reading the post!! I’m glad you liked it 🙂

  6. Christopher De Voss June 24, 2014 at 3:39 pm #

    Thank you! We are very honored!

Tell me what you think!

