Versatile Blogger Award

26 Aug

So something fabulous has happened in my life that I would like to share with everyone. Nope, I still haven’t managed to do the downward dog yoga pose without looking like a drunken mime who got kicked in the gut…and no, I still haven’t figured out what happened to Amelia Earhart. (These are my two dreams. Still a work in progress…)

What happened to me is BETTER. The very inspirational Alyssa Boisvert nominated me for the Versatile Blogger Award!

(Okay, if I’m being totally honest: Alyssa nominated me for this award TWO weeks ago, but I only realized TODAY that I’m supposed to respond to and accept this award in writing. Yes, I’m embarrassed. But, come to think of it, I do write a blog about Tom Fooleries…so come on, are we really surprised?)

I would like to start off by saying that Alyssa’s blog is AWESOME. We’re talking the cream of the crop (or la crème de la crème, if you’re feeling classy). The design of her blog alone is beautiful and artsy and psychedelic, and I always feel excited and awesome every time I see it.

Oh, and then there are her posts. Don’t even get me started! Or do, that’s fine too. (My dinner won’t be ready for another 30 minutes, so we have time.) When I started reading Alyssa’s blog about a month ago, I was so impressed by how open she is about her interests. She knows what she wants, and she’s not afraid to take the necessary risks to achieve her goals. I mean, “Watching turtles hatch and run for the ocean” and reading “the complete works of Shakespeare”? Those are two lofty goals, but I have no doubt that she will achieve them. And I look forward to reading about her experiences

So, thank you to Alyssa for this nomination. You and your inspirational blog both rock.

Now, it is time for me to nominate 15 blogs for this very same award!

But first: since I am relatively new to blogging, I must admit that I don’t follow 15 blogs on a consistent basis. So, the blogs that I’m about to nominate are blogs that I somehow found and that I find really awesome. 

A Confederacy of Spinsters for being hilarious, honest, and awesome.

Jenna from NOBSLYFE for fully embracing her funny childhood photos and anecdotes.

Wendi from This, That and the Other Thang for finding hilarity in life’s little adventures.

Simon from sweetandweak for appreciating the funny parts of being a male amongst a family of females.

Abby from Abby Has Issues for making everything from green vegetables to bras seem funny.

So those are my top five!

Per the Versatile Blogger Award instructions, I am also supposed to list seven facts about myself that others probably don’t know. Here goes it:

  1. I spent a month camping and hiking in Madagascar and a lemur (named Vinny) drank out of my water bottle and ate ALL of my Tums.
  2. I went trick-or-treating until I was 17 (years of age, that is). I would still go trick-or-treating if it wasn’t for society.
  3. I was stung – on my FACE – by a bee at recess in fifth grade and everyone laughed at me because my reaction looked like a combination of the electric slide and yoga. (But not the downward dog position. See the first paragraph of this post.)
  4. I wasn’t born with wisdom teeth.
  5. I have dreams where I can fly and it all feels so real that I sometimes wake up kicking the air.
  6. I went through a phase where I only ate Caesar salad and I kept a list of all of the best Caesar salads I’d ever eaten and where I’d eaten them… this was the closest I’ve ever been to a “diet.”
  7. I once almost jumped out of a moving vehicle because one of my imaginary friends did it first.

So that’s me. Again, thank you to Alyssa Boisvert for the nomination! I will try my best to keep my foolery versatile.

 

 

4 Responses to “Versatile Blogger Award”

  1. nobsj September 1, 2013 at 9:38 pm #

    Sorry forgot to let you know on here that I posted my official response!

  2. nobsj August 28, 2013 at 5:37 pm #

    Thank you Sophie!!

  3. alyssamichellefrench August 26, 2013 at 10:41 pm #

    Thanks so much for your kindness Sophie! You are so deserving of this award! You are such a talented, straight-shooting writer and I appreciate it so much. You always inspire me to be myself and embrace life for what it is. Plus you’re frickin’ hilarious (trying to keep it clean for the young eyes without selling you short). As always, eagerly awaiting your next post!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Inspirational Blogger Award | A Series of Tom Fooleries - June 24, 2014

    […] then, I’ve been honored with a few awards (including The Versatile Blogger Award and the Liebster Award), all of which paled in comparison to my […]

Tell me what you think!

